Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Over there.
    Posts
    410

    Switch question...

    Can i connect to the internet using a network switch? I plan on hosting a lot of LAN parties soon, but the internet is sh!t on the wireless ruter / hub so i'm gonna upgrade to a switch.
    Only problem is, can I connect to the internet using a switch? Or is it purely networking-pc's-only? ( e.g school networks and stuff)

  2. #2
    Obsessed Veteran Adam's Avatar



    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK / England
    Posts
    17,271
    Indeed if you have a seperate modem, just hook it to one of the open ethernet ports, or if it has one the WAN port.

    Simple.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Over there.
    Posts
    410
    I have my broadband router. But what i meant is, is it possible for me to get rid of the router ENTIRELY and configure the broadband onto the switch?

  4. #4
    Obsessed Veteran Adam's Avatar



    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK / England
    Posts
    17,271
    Its possible but it depends on what type of internet connection your running. In most cases your still going to need a modem, which in turn can be directly hooked to the switch.

    If you have a combo modem / router now, you could just add the switch to it, by linking it via a free ethernet port?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Over there.
    Posts
    410
    So I could plug the switch into the router, then plug the PC's into the switch?
    My router has also a four port switch built in, but we now have 7 computers in my house so we need MORE.

  6. #6
    Obsessed Veteran Adam's Avatar



    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK / England
    Posts
    17,271
    Quote Originally Posted by Marshmallows
    So I could plug the switch into the route, then plug the PC's into the switch?
    Correct, basically it just allows you to hook up more computers.

    You just need one free ethernet line to go from the router to the switch and your all set.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Over there.
    Posts
    410
    So in theory, if I get a faster switch then my router, the switch'll convert the internet stuff and make it faster than if I had it in the router?

    Need a lag free life for these lan parties y'know.

  8. #8
    Obsessed Veteran Adam's Avatar



    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK / England
    Posts
    17,271
    ^^ Well not really, it wont act as a booster of any kind the speed is liable to be same as the router will limit it depending on its speed.

    Shouldent be too much bother most run at 10/100MBit base.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •