Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Capture Cards

  1. #1
    DD's Collector Faded's Avatar


    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6,907

    Capture Cards

    For those who don't know what a Capture Card is...they are made to be hooked up with A/V cords that run into the system and TV which feeds video into a software that is compatible and is recording with the card itself.

    One of the most well known companies who make them are Pinnacle, which make the Dazzle Capture Cards which run for about 40USD and up depending on what tyoe if card you are looking for, and what all comes with the thing itself.

    I have a Dazzle DVC100 which works absolute wonders since I got Pinnacle Studio 12 on this new computer, thank you funds from Paypal.

    Anyone else here have a Dazzle or any sort of Capture Card, if so...please post.
    If it all seems confusing on what the quality or setup is like...:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGObi_T3gJE

    *The video is by me, I did it as a quality test to see if my new software was working with this.

    If setup seems confusing, I'll try to explain it in another post if people ask about it.

    Just speak your mind, do you like them, dislike them, etc.
    YouTube Channel | Community Channel
    Steam: chaotic50
    PSN: iFadeDx
    Skype: darkdemonusertim

    Feel free to add me, just let me know who you are.

  2. #2
    Devoted Veteran


    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,329

    Re: Capture Cards

    I never knew how this worked. I knew it was something more than putting a camera up to a TV screen but this is pretty cool. Nice quality too.
    [center:2mwkv12p][/center:2mwkv12p]

  3. #3
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Canada :D
    Posts
    1,354

    Re: Capture Cards

    Yeah, I have a Dazzle 170 ( At least I think that's the one) and it's great. The only problem would be when I try to capture things on my Computer, it crashes. I'm sure it's something I'm doing wrong, and not the Capture Card's problem. But I've used it on othe computers, and it's great.
    [center:2nf8ts7e]Xbl: Killer Noodlez|Psn: Belowxero| Steam: Belowxero94[/center:2nf8ts7e]

  4. #4
    Fanatic Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4,590

    Re: Capture Cards

    Er, the quality could use some work.

    If I were you, I'd check out a camera with input/output cables and an input plug. And if
    your TV has an output plug, you can just record the screen.

    Seems easier if you ask me, than buying all of that stuff.

  5. #5
    Veteran Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    106 is fumpin', pumpin' up in this hoe, for sho, my bro
    Posts
    7,112

    Re: Capture Cards

    Quote Originally Posted by Chippy The Hippie
    Er, the quality could use some work.

    If I were you, I'd check out a camera with input/output cables and an input plug. And if
    your TV has an output plug, you can just record the screen.

    Seems easier if you ask me, than buying all of that stuff.
    You need to buy 1 thing. And it is way cheaper than a camera, and unless it is an HD camera, a capture card will most likely have better quality.
    [center:3mdlh4lx]Fuck you. Cunt.[/center:3mdlh4lx]

  6. #6
    Insanity Skype's Avatar



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    27,397

    Re: Capture Cards

    Imo Console manufacturers should implement something like this anyway, rather than having to buy extra kit.

  7. #7
    Veteran Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    106 is fumpin', pumpin' up in this hoe, for sho, my bro
    Posts
    7,112

    Re: Capture Cards

    But it is PC equipment, so it really isn't anything to do with the console.
    [center:3mdlh4lx]Fuck you. Cunt.[/center:3mdlh4lx]

  8. #8
    Insanity Skype's Avatar



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    27,397

    Re: Capture Cards

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraz
    But it is PC equipment, so it really isn't anything to do with the console.
    So? Besides the point really. I said I think consoles should include the equipment.

    And of course it's something to do with the console, you're using it with the console.

  9. #9
    Fanatic Enthusiast Astro's Avatar


    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    4,227

    Re: Capture Cards

    I used to use a Dazzle too, but I barely play Xbox anymore.

  10. #10
    DD's Collector Faded's Avatar


    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6,907

    Re: Capture Cards

    Quote Originally Posted by Epyks
    Quote Originally Posted by Fraz
    But it is PC equipment, so it really isn't anything to do with the console.
    So? Besides the point really. I said I think consoles should include the equipment.

    And of course it's something to do with the console, you're using it with the console.
    In a way, you are right...and in a way, you are wrong.
    Cap. Cards can be used for anything that implements the usage of A/V cords, so I could hook it up to a DVD Recorder or Player and record from that onto my computer despite the fact that the quality would be a bit lower and it would take up a ton of space depending on what quality you are planning to record with.

    So that right, is why the companies don't provide the stuff...because it isn't just solely used for console gaming, it can be used for anything...and something like that, if provided would make the console more expensive since these things run for 40USD and up.
    YouTube Channel | Community Channel
    Steam: chaotic50
    PSN: iFadeDx
    Skype: darkdemonusertim

    Feel free to add me, just let me know who you are.


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •