Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Dedicated Member Commander Xience's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    803

    Upgrading my Gaming rig

    Okay so right now I am in the process of updating my gaming rig (Recently got my Planetside 2 beta Key)
    And I looked to see the recommended system requirements *Here* And Looks like I really need to upgrade.

    [center:12c68slf]VIDEO CARDS[/center:12c68slf]
    GeForce GT 620 series: $61.85
    XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870 Video Card $200


    Processor:
    AMD PhenomII X6 1045T 2.7GHz

    RAM: Here


    So it really comes down to the video cards price wise, $370 if I get the AMD, $230 if I get the AMD 620. Since I'm not the best with gaming computers, I need a bit of help.




    E: Updated parts, Everything actually working together:

    Mother Board: http://www.scan.co.uk/products/asus-m5a ... x16%29-atx

    Processor: http://www.scan.co.uk/products/amd-phen ... 25w-retail

    RAM: http://www.scan.co.uk/products/8gb-%282 ... 24-xmp-15v

    GFX Card: http://www.scan.co.uk/products/1gb-msi- ... -mini-hdmi
    So get up off that slave ship..
    build your own pyramids, write your own hieroglyphs

    ~Kendrick Lamar

  2. #2
    Dedicated Member .Titanium's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    in yoe're faec!! EKSDEE
    Posts
    878

    Re: Upgrading my Gaming rig

    For the processor, i'd say i5 or i7.
    And for the graphics card, i'd say NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560Ti.
    Hope this helps.
    im havolis

  3. #3
    Insanity Skype's Avatar



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    27,397

    Re: Upgrading my Gaming rig

    *Sigh*. I feel like a broken record. Post your current specification. It's not as easy as "oh I'll just buy this super good graphics card and video games will run A-okay". I realise you've posted a processor too but for all we know it might not even be the right socket for your motherboard.

    Get Speccy (http://www.piriform.com/speccy). Post all the information. Then we can help you.

  4. #4
    Dedicated Member Commander Xience's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    803

    Re: Upgrading my Gaming rig

    Operating System
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

    CPU
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+
    Brisbane 65nm Technology

    RAM
    4.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 301MHz

    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. M57SLI-S4 PCI Slots

    Graphics
    DELL 2001FP (1600x1200@60Hz)
    512MB GeForce 9800 GT

    Hard Drives
    186GB Western Digital WDC
    466GB Seagate

    Optical Drives
    NEC DVD_RW ND-3500AG ATA Device


    E: I am having my friend help me choose entirely new things, I was unaware that my mother board had PCI slots, And the Graphics card I am getting Is PCI Express 3.0 (New one anyway)
    So get up off that slave ship..
    build your own pyramids, write your own hieroglyphs

    ~Kendrick Lamar

  5. #5
    Veteran Enthusiast Xemozu's Avatar


    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5,692

    Re: Upgrading my Gaming rig

    I didn't read everything, but just one quick advice: If you're getting the 6870 (really good price/performance ratio btw) You can get the XFX version on amazon for like 166 dollars, and they also have a 30$ rebate. Bought mine literally a week ago.


    Also lol DDR2: Time to upgrade your motherboard buddy, your pc is not going to be future proofed at all if the motherboard is that old. Nowadays DDR3 RAM is cheaper than its DDR2 counterpart, just to give you an idea.

  6. #6
    Dedicated Member Commander Xience's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    803

    Re: Upgrading my Gaming rig

    Hmmm. Well I did get this "gaming computer" from craigslist, I made the first mistake of ignoring the price of about $200, Didn't realize it was old, Also I have a question, I still have my old gaming computer, (Better motherboard) I am wondering if the AMD CPU Phenom II 965 I might be getting is compatible, The Motherboard is eMachines WMCP61M Socket AM2
    So get up off that slave ship..
    build your own pyramids, write your own hieroglyphs

    ~Kendrick Lamar

  7. #7
    Insanity Skype's Avatar



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    27,397

    Re: Upgrading my Gaming rig

    You want DDR3 ram and your current is DDR2, so chances are your mobo is not DDR3 compatible. As for the other motherboard, its an AM2 socket and the phenom II 965 is AM3.

    If this upgrade is going to be viable you need a new motherboard. AM3 socket and DDR3.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •