Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Enthusiast

Post your short stories/poetry and I will criticize it here!

I am a creative writing major in my second year at university and am looking to improve my writing/critiquing skills. I've found that one of the best ways to improve yourself as a writer is to examine others' works and learn from them, both good and bad. So that's why I'm creating this thread; I want to offer the knowledge that I have learned as a writer to you guys, and, in return, I want to read and examine your works and hopefully learn from them.

Before I get into this, though, please know a few things:
    1. I am NOT an expert. I have spent a couple years learning and participating in workshops geared towards advancing my skill as a writer, but I am not perfect. I will give you my educated opinion on your pieces, but I obviously am not always going to be right; there are times when I'll be way off-base, probably. As it is with all art, writing is, at its roots, just a means of expression. If I tell you something is wrong, but you don't want to change it, DON'T. Chances are, you're not going to be submitting a piece like that to be published anyway.
    2. I'm going to be honest. I'll try my best not to be harsh, but don't EVER be offended by anything that I say; it will never be a personal attack on you. My only desire with this idea is to see both parties improve in the field.

And that's it! Feel free to post your stuff here, and I'll critque it the best that I can.

Re: Post your short stories/poetry and I will criticize it h

Wrote this 5 years ago or so