Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Thread: A prologue.

A prologue.

This is the prologue to my ongoing work. It's working title is "Beasts & Blood" and it's set in a world I've been designing with a good friend of mine for about 5 years. The book is set to be around 40,000 words and will be designed as the first part of a trilogy.

Just to let you know, this glimpse is from a part of the story you won't really see in the book, so there aren't really any spoilers. The character in this section is not the main character of the book, and this actually wraps up his storyline, which is far away from the focus of the rest of the book, but gives a good example of what the second and third books will contain.

Without further adieu...

The thick stench of sulphur burnt the lungs. The blood red sky rained streaks of blue, rapturous fire. Magical explosions seared the atmosphere with their visceral power, shaking the earth below and releasing shockwaves powerful enough to break a man to pieces. Screams filled the blood torn air with a piercing screech of death.
    Ossilan felt bile twist at the pit of his stomach as men before him exploded with the wrath of the dark gods. Good men. Brave men. As he moved to stand, the waves of power still clawing at his legs, he let go of the churning in and emptied his unappetising load onto the ground. He shivered and stumbled before feeling a hand clasp his shoulder.
    “Brother!” Screamed Kardis, his words hard to grasp through the streaming cries of pain and gorefire around them. “We must move! The trebuchets fire!” As he screamed into Ossilans pain-ridden ear, enormous wooden arms swung overhead, heaving boulders toward the enemy, earth shuddering as they made impact at a distance invisible through the ash-torn battleground.