Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Thread: Puddin

Puddin

Hello. I am ten years old and i have been animating with pivot for two years!

i have been trying hard to understand what is the key to good animation. But im not good at math because im only ten years old.

I understand things like... Stiffiness getting rid of that and basic movements and easing but my animations are still choppy..

Whats the key to animation please leave CC in the comments!

Here are my animations i really hope you enjoy them.

No animations lol... be patient

[spoiler:qfe5z6vk]Thread[/spoiler:qfe5z6vk]

Thread Up Below

Re: Puddin

at the moment your biggest problem is stiffness. your aim when dealing with movement is to move every joint in every frame. for instance when moving the lower back for the punch, move the upper back as well to emphasize him leaning into the punch. also you probably should worry to much about flow as of now but when you do move 2 different joints, dont ease them at the same time.

for instance if the upper arm is eased to a stop and changes direction, the lower arm does not have to stop as well and can continue to move a little longer. Everything has its own momentum and takes different times to stop.

As for your easing you do ease, but only in some cases. for instance you seem to have applied SOME BRIEF easing to the upper body. but as the foot slides back it snaps to a straight stop.

remember to always apply the basic |-|--|---|-----| (being able to count pixels is a very useful skill)

Edit: you also seem to have shakiness present in your animation. particularly that front leg. always maintain the same direction and never have something suddenly change direction.

Courts returned, thanks for the CC you left on my thread. Keep it up man
    Moonlight Road: 210/600

First on first, the animation is stiff. To get rid of stiffnes, move every joint ( red dot ) of the stickfigure.