Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Unmei Shira's thread

Yep. No clue what I'm doing. A friend told me to make a new thread, because I'm a beginner. Here's my first animation.

I am Unmei Shira, the Preceder of Death

Re: Unmei Shira's thread

You first need to start off with stiffness and easing but you seem to have some knowledge on it. But here's a refresher: stiffness is when the animation looks like one of those stop-motion 80s Christmas specials. It makes the animations look bad. To get rid of stiffness, unless your stick is simply standing, you must move every joint (the red dots) in a single frame--even if you don't want to move it, you must move it at least a pixel. But don't over do it. There is a thing called easing. Easing is the stop and go movement that, I think, pretty much relies on physics. It goes like this: When something starts moving, it must keep moving until it stops. Here's a diagram (in dashes) that represents easing:
    |-|--|---|--------|---|--|-|
    It starts slow, then fast, then slow again.

Spacing is basically the space between the onion skin and the stick. That applies with easing as well.

Your foot placement needs work. It looks as if the person is sliding across the screen rather than actually running.

Once you have completed that, I suggest you move onto flow. It's kind of complicated but you should get the hang of it sooner or later.
    [center:2hivssx3]
    "What if the Slender Man is trying to save children from the Pedobear?"
    My Thread
    My Youtube (Subscribe)

[/center:2hivssx3]

Why would you post pretty much the exact same thing you told me not ten minutes ago?

I am Unmei Shira, the Preceder of Death

Quote Originally Posted by UnmeiShira
    Why would you post pretty much the exact same thing you told me not ten minutes ago?