Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

OblivionFall's Epic Big [EVERYTHING] Tutorial

Introduction
    Welcome to OblivionFall's master tutorial! This is the one place to go where I can pass on all of my experience as an animator to the 'lesser' generations. Most of the material in here can be found in my video tutorials on Youtube, only here I will explain everything in far more depth with less strain on your internet and in a more 'direct' form.

For just a little background info, I was first introduced to Pivot Animation in April 2006, though I didn't animate fully until around the 9th August 2007. I stayed on Youtube from the end of 2007 until the end of 2008, when I found this website, DarkDemon.org. Up until then, everything I knew was self taught, although I had been exposed to the mistaken philosophy that the noobs had adopted on Youtube (which was still around on DD to some extent) So for the first part of my tutorial, I will attempt to dispel this mistaken view that some have adopted.

Now, for most beginners, smoothness is everything. When they see an animation like HHS Collab, they wouldn't comment on the quality poses or the physics, most of them would just say "OMG SO SMOOTH!". I see a problem with this mentality. The mindset that a lot of noobs have where they judge movements based on smoothness and easing. Here's the problem, easing is not the most important aspect of animation. In fact, I think the other aspects are much more important. We shouldn't focus on the spacing of movements, we should focus on the movements themselves.