Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: xbox live

  1. #1
    Enthusiast Justy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,283

    xbox live

    So, recently i have got an xbox. I have been wondering how to set up xbox live using my laptop as the connection by attaching the ethernet cable from my xbox into it. Obviously, it isn't as easy as that, i have read many of the tutorials on how to do this, but none i've seen so far have worked. My laptop runs using vista, any help/suggestions are welcome.
    [center:2le6i6j3]
    Thanks Heather for awesome Avatar, Sig and Rank bar.[/center:2le6i6j3]

  2. #2
    Enthusiast Osprey's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,324

    Re: xbox live

    Connect the ethernet cable to the ethernet port on your router, not your laptop.

  3. #3
    Enthusiast Justy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,283

    Re: xbox live

    Quote Originally Posted by Osprey
    Connect the ethernet cable to the ethernet port on your router, not your laptop.
    my router is too far away from my xbox, that's why i'm using the laptop in the first place
    [center:2le6i6j3]
    Thanks Heather for awesome Avatar, Sig and Rank bar.[/center:2le6i6j3]

  4. #4
    Enthusiast Osprey's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,324

    Re: xbox live

    Then you need to get a longer ethernet cable or move your Xbox 360 closer to the router.

  5. #5
    Veteran Enthusiast Salazar-DE's Avatar


    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    8,797

    Re: xbox live

    You're saying a 10-foot cable is what alters your internet speed from the stable connection it is to a blithering asswipe of non-connectivity?
    [center:15cesajl]I'm gone, but I loved my time here. Thank you all for being such a great community![/center:15cesajl]

  6. #6
    Insanity Skype's Avatar



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    27,397

    Re: xbox live

    Quote Originally Posted by Osprey
    Then you need to get a longer ethernet cable or move your Xbox 360 closer to the router.
    Wronnnnnnnnnng.

    Plug your Xbox into your Laptop via an ethernet cable, connect your laptop to the internet via wireless, then open the network control panel, select the 2 connections (wireless and ethernet) then right click > bridge connection.

  7. #7
    Enthusiast Justy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,283

    Re: xbox live

    Quote Originally Posted by Sir Skype
    Quote Originally Posted by Osprey
    Then you need to get a longer ethernet cable or move your Xbox 360 closer to the router.
    Wronnnnnnnnnng.

    Plug your Xbox into your Laptop via an ethernet cable, connect your laptop to the internet via wireless, then open the network control panel, select the 2 connections (wireless and ethernet) then right click > bridge connection.
    with the xbox on or off?
    [center:2le6i6j3]
    Thanks Heather for awesome Avatar, Sig and Rank bar.[/center:2le6i6j3]

  8. #8
    Insanity Skype's Avatar



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    27,397

    Re: xbox live

    On.

  9. #9
    Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    ---
    Posts
    1,983

    Re: xbox live

    This tutorial worked for me.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7dg1Un5DVqs
    [center:7qmqkz8r]In God We Trust.[/center:7qmqkz8r]


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •