Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Partitioning help!

I want to partition my hard drive so that I can install Linux on a partitioned part of it and recently snagged EASEUS partition manager pro from a giveawayoftheday offer, so I looked it up before making my C drive smaller and found that you can lose all of the things on the drive.
    So I want to know if I can split my drive so I have say, two thirds windows and one Linux?
    I'd like to know if this is possible in the EASEUS software, if not, is there any other way to do it?

I'm sorry if anything about this sounds stupid, but I'm only learning about this kind of stuff.

EDIT: Actually, I was wondering if during the ubuntu installation process, when you partition the hard-drive through that; does it delete the things that are on the windows installed hard-drive?
    [center:2gglb0ja][/center:2gglb0ja]

Re: Partitioning help!

An easy way to partition your harddrives is actually using windows's own software for it.

Do you have XP, Vista or 7?

I have windows 7 only 32bit though.
    My CPU is 64bit capable so I could install ubuntu 64bit couldn't I?
    Or wouldn't it have as many of the upsides as 32bit ubuntu? I'm just not sure about some of these things

Quote Originally Posted by Lonely Robot
    I have windows 7 only 32bit though.
    My CPU is 64bit capable so I could install ubuntu 64bit couldn't I?
    Or wouldn't it have as many of the upsides as 32bit ubuntu? I'm just not sure about some of these things
    Yes technically you could install the 64bit, however unless you have 4GB ram or more you should just stick to the 32bit version.

And good, Windows 7 is very easy to partition. Here's what you do.

Hit start and type "disk management" and "Create and format hard drive partitions" should pop up, or something similar. Open that up and you should see something like this:

[tn=200:1thnlh8e]http://yourimg.in/i/2mc0j5.png[/tn:1thnlh8e]