Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Camcorder help.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Over there.
    Posts
    410

    Camcorder help.

    Hi.
    I've recently bought a Sony DCR-HC19E camcorder, and I'm having trouble uploading the footage to my laptop.
    I've spent enough money on this camcorder already so I don't want to have to buy firewire so I'm using the USB cable.
    HOWEVER.
    The only way (it seems) I can get it onto the computer is by using this "Picture Package" thing that came with the camcorder.
    Which is ok.
    BUT when I get 3 minutes through the upload the footage stops. A message comes up saying that the transfer has failed.
    I've tried it 5 times and EVERY time this happens.
    Could anyone tell me an alternative way of putting it onto my computer?
    I also want to be able to edit it in Movie Maker.
    Thanks in advance,
    Marshmallows.

  2. #2
    Fanatic Enthusiast Bari's Avatar


    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, New York
    Posts
    3,745
    Ok, well, I dont know anything about uploading the movie, but I am pretty good with windows movie maker. If you need any help with that, just add me on MSN, and I can walk you through how to do stuff.

  3. #3
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Nouvelle-Écosse
    Posts
    2,343
    Get a flash drive and load them from that to the computer.

    Ultimate Flash Tutorial
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy
    Quote Originally Posted by ddd9824
    It wont end like that! read the bible
    And it wont end like that either. Read a brief history of time.

  4. #4
    Fanatic Enthusiast Toastmaster's Avatar


    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,999
    I have a sony still camera, which also tries to make me use the picture package to transfer to the PC, however I always go to 'my computer' once I plug it in, and it appears as 'Removable Disk (E' (note the drive letter is different for each computer)
    Inside there are usually 2 folders, 1 with a few files for the camera to use, and the other with the pictures on it, it should (SHOULD) be the same for your camcorder.

    Other than that method, I'm not sure what else you could try.

  5. #5
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    California!!
    Posts
    1,320
    sometimes you have to turn it on then, after you do that hook it up... try that and what toasty said
    <i joined longer ago than that. i mean look >

    miss the old timers

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Over there.
    Posts
    410
    I've just spent a couple of hours waiting for it to upload, and now it's uploaded i can't find the folder where it has saved the clips to. I'm great at Movie Maker, I just can't find the folder where I can import the clips, it just says the date and I can't find it in my program files or anything.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •