Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Thread: Help a Geek!

1 Post Lurker

Help a Geek!

I am posting here because I could really, really use your help. I don't need money or your animations or anything. I'm not running a scam. I'm an Indianapolis high school teacher who is writing a grant, and you could probably help me just by sending an e-mail or talking to a friend. If youíve ever wanted to make a huge impact on someoneís life, this is your chance!

Here is my grant in a nutshell. Eli Lilly is giving away grants to teachers so that they can do something that they would not be able to do without their (monetary) help. They want it to be something that is renewing and refreshing to the teacher. They want the teachers to try to learn something new or stretch themselves in some way. Perhaps the best way to describe it is an educational vacation, followed by many, many hours of using what I have learned in order to create a presentation and, of course, to create lessons and activities for my students. Since I have begun creating my own animations to help my math students, my passion for animation has increased greatly. I am wanting to travel to California to interview animators and other people who contribute to animated motion pictures. I also plan to learn more about the history of animation and to immerse myself in the animated world, as well as learn how to draw and animate better. I will be visiting the Disney Family Museum, DisneyLand, Universal Studios, & the San Diego Zoo &/or Yosemite (to study & film animal movement). I already have an interview with one of the lead software engineers at SONY. Now, I am hoping to find some animators and other filmmakers associated with animated films who would be willing to give me an interview and possibly a tour of their studios.